Skip to content ↓

Our Governors

Message from the Chair of Governors - Carlos Freire Lorenzo

I would like to extend a warm welcome to Plumcroft Primary School, where I have been a Governor since 2019. I’ve been Chair of Governors since 2021.

The Governors of Plumcroft oversee the work of the Headteacher and the Senior Management Team, who are responsible for the day-to-day running of the school. We do this by setting the school’s ethos and strategic direction, monitoring pupils’ achievement and supporting and challenging the Senior Leadership Team. 

The Governing Board includes parents, representatives of the local community and the Local Authority alongside the Headteacher and other members of staff. We aim to act with integrity, objectivity, and honesty in the best interests of the school and its pupils. The Governing Board has two sub-committees:

Finance & Resources Committee:

It is chaired by Tamasin Keeper. The role of the Finance and Resources Committee is to oversee the school’s finances, budget, and staffing (including performance management and pay) as well as the upkeep of the school premises. 

The Finance and Resources Committee reviews how the school uses the money it receives under the pupil premium funding to support disadvantaged children (defined as pupils who have received free school meals within the past six years). The Finance and Resources Committee meets at least once a term.

Curriculum & Achievement Committee:

It is chaired by Sandra Cullen. A key role of the Curriculum & Achievement Committee is to assess the way in which the curriculum is implemented within the school to help the pupils attain their full potential. They also monitor the data to ascertain pupils’ progress, particularly as to whether children are progressing at expected levels. The curriculum committee will look at trends across year groups, those with English as an additional language (EAL), and pupil premium children. The Curriculum & Achievement Committee meets each term, and members of staff are invited to give governors greater insight into different aspects of the curriculum. 

If you would like to contact us, please email us via our email addresses listed below or leave a note at school marked “for the attention of the Chair of Governors”. Please note that queries about specific pupils or to the day-to-day management of the school should be addressed to the Headteacher in the first place.

Governing Board

Our Governing Body is made up of a group of people with a range of different skills and experiences.  We are a mix of those with a connection to our school as teachers, parents or grandparents and those in the wider community. Our job is to work with the Senior Leadership Team to make sure we run the school in the best way for our whole school community across both our school campuses. We work hard to create a caring environment with an inclusive, creative and enriching curriculum that enables all of our children to thrive. Our current list of governors are:

Category Name Email Address Term of Office Committees Served (Permission to Vote) Pecuniary Interests

Chair of Governors/ Parent

Carlos Freire- Lorenzo 21st November 2019 - 20th November 2023 All  
Vice Chair of Governors / Parent Governor Sarah Catterall   4th April 2019 - 3rd April 2023 All  
Co-Opted Governor Laura Walton 16th December 2019 - 15th December 2023 All  
Headteacher Richard Slade N/A All On Committee of Renaissance Learning and EromesMarko
Co-Opted Governor Pauline Austin 1st July 2019  - 1st July 2023 All  
Co-Opted Governor Hatice Choli 17th December 2018 - 16th December 2022 All  
Co-Opted Governor Jason Nelson 28th September 2021 - 27th September 2025 All  
Staff Governor Sophie Nicol 12th October 2020- 11th October 2024 N/A  

Parent Governor

Tamasin Keeper 21st November 2019 - 20th November 2023 All  
Parent Governor Celia Pearce 21st November 2019 - 20th November 2023 All  
Parent Governor Ian Lightbown 4th April 2019 - 3rd APril 2023 All  
Local Authority Governor Doug Johnston   All  
Associated Governor Annette Graney 1st July 2019  - 1st July 2023 All  
Previous Governor Andrew Green   Resigned - August 2021 All  
Previous Governor Natalie Barker   Resigned - August 2021 All  


Meeting Attendance:

FGB = Full Governing Body, Curr = Curriculum, Res = Resources



Pauline Austin    
Laura Walton
Richard Slade
Andrew Green      
Hatice Choli    
Jason Nelson
Natalie Barker    
Sophie Nicol
Sandra Cullen
Carlos Freire- Lorenzo
Tamasin Keeper  
Celia Pearce
Sarah Catterall  
Ian Lightbown    
Doug Johnston  
Annette Graney